Cherished Collections at Love of Stitch

19 Jul

Hello there!

I have been a fan of Caseys Blog, Caseys Elegant Musings as long as I can remember, and as soon as an email popped up in my inbox asking bloggers to share their Cherished Collection’s how could I resist? So today I will be sharing with you a select few from my collection of vintage sewing books, which always seem to jump out at me at book sections in charity shops! So without further ado let’s get started shall we?

So, these are the three Vintage Sewing books I have decided to show you from my collection. They are ‘Complete Needle Craft’, ‘ The Pictorial Guide to Modern Home Needle Craft’ and ‘Sew and Save’. Firstly I LOVE all the covers they have cute little vintage illustrations and all of them apart from Sew and Save are covered with fabric which I really like, which never seems to happen anymore! Shall we have a closer look at them?

Sew And Save:

This is actually a modern reproduction of the 1941 wartime edition but everything inside is the same as it origional edition. I brought it for £3 when I was on holiday in Cornwall a couple of years ago, but have been constantly inspired by it ever since! It’s got loads of really cute ideas in it and really has a lovely vintage feel to it. Here’s a few more pictures for you… ♥

 Complete Needle Craft:

 This is a book I picked up last autumn for £1! I was in love with the fabric cover and the cutest litttle needle and stiches picture on the front! I am not sure when this book was published but i am guessing 1920’s because of the models hair, what do you think? It has everything from Embroidery to Upholstery and is fantastic to turn to when you need a bit of advice and the laptops not on 🙂 heres a few more pictures….♥

The Pictorial Guide to Modern Home Needle Craft:

This book was found last weekend in one of my favourite charity shops and I only payed £1.50 for it! I love the little picture on the front, as soon as I saw that I knew I had to buy it, even if what was inside wasn’t that great. Even the inside front cover is inspirational! As you will see with these lovely pictures…. ♥

I hope that you have enjoyed this post and have been inspired by Vintage Sewing books! If you would like to see more pictures from them just drop me an email at loveofstitch@live.co.uk or write a comment below – I would love to hear your opinions and I read each and every one! ♥

 Also all of you who have visited from Caseys Elegant Musings if you want to check out all of the other Cherished Collections in the blog tour here is the link http://elegantmusings.com/tag/cherished-collections/. I can’t wait to see everyone elses! And what do you guys collect and what is your most Cherished Collection? Hope to hear from you soon!

Lots of Love,

Becky ♥

16 Responses to “Cherished Collections at Love of Stitch”

  1. Rhia July 20, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    Very inspiring books! Most vintage sewing books I’ve seen have been rather costly, unfortunately. I love to read them though since they have valuable information for seamstres or other crafters.
    I tried to google Complete Needlecraft and the information I could find was claiming it is originally from 1941 or 1943. Unusually late for that kind of hairdo. I would have guessed late 20’s early 30’s.

    • loveofstitch July 21, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      Thank you! I am so glad that you like them, and thank you for letting me know the date – 1920’s was a guess really 😉
      Love Becky ♥

  2. Alicia July 20, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Nice! I just finished my first sewing book last night – Singer’s “Sewing Essentials” (1984) – and was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Not charming like these, of course. Thanks for sharing!

    • loveofstitch July 21, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      Thank You! All vintage sewing book’s are charming in thier own way I think ♥ And keep on reading them I can assure you they can be full of treasures!
      Love Becky ♥

  3. Laurie July 20, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    I enjoyed seeing the vintage books, especially the war version one!
    Laurie…visiting from the blog tour

    • loveofstitch July 21, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

      I am glad you liked the books 🙂 the war version one if definately one of my favourites… I just love the cover too.
      Love Becky ♥

  4. Corinne July 20, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

    What a wonderful collection. I only have a few vintage books but I do cherish them. I attempt to picture how it would have been to live during that time period and work on the projects presented. The whimsical covers also tell of a very different time. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • loveofstitch July 21, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

      I also do that especially with my ‘sew and save’ book. As it has a section on ‘which essential item’s to buy for a family of four with ration coupons’ which always make me think how lucky we are 🙂
      Love Becky ♥

  5. Jeanne Marie Tokunaga July 20, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Becky, I LOVE your collection! It is my favorite of the tour so far. I have a modest collection of vintage sewing books myself. It started when I saw one my mother has at an antique sale and had to have it! I also have a vintage sewing and decorating book that mentions in passing the unfortunate era of craftsman design and how thankfully it’s over. So fun. Thanks for sharing!

    • loveofstitch July 21, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

      Awh, thank you Jeane you are such a honey 🙂 I am very flattered 😉 Do carry on looking at my blog if you want there are many more posts to come!
      Love Becky ♥

  6. Peggy July 21, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    what wonderful finds! It looks like there are some neat patterns/techniques in them. Have you considered doing a tutorial based one of the methods? I’d be interested in reading a post (or posts) on that.

    • loveofstitch July 21, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      Thank you! If you want I can do a post on one of the methods 😉 I will add it to my list of things to blog about ♥
      Love Becky ♥

  7. Paperdoll July 21, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    Hi there! Iv’e just posted about two of my favourite vintage books, I have two of the ones you mention above (The Pictorial Guide and Sew and Save) both fabulous books!!! X

    • loveofstitch July 21, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      Wow how many chances are there of that happening! Snap! Glad you enjoyed the post 😉
      Love Becky ♥

  8. Renee July 21, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I love, love, love your collection. I love vintage sewing books and crafting books. I have a few. Wonderful collection. Thank you for sharing.

    • loveofstitch July 21, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

      Thank you Renee I am so glad that you like it 🙂 Carry on collecting, I can assure you that you will hit a treasure trove of lovliness soon!
      Love Becky ♥

Leave a Reply

